English Premier League

The Premier League is the top professional football league in England. It was founded in 1992, replacing the Football League First Division as the top tier of English football. The formation of the Premier League was a response to the decline of English football in the 1980s, and the increasing dominance of Italian and Spanish clubs in European competitions.

The league was created by the top clubs in the country, who broke away from the Football League to form their own competition. The first Premier League season began in 1992-1993, and it has been played every year since then. The league currently consists of 20 teams, who play each other twice (once at home and once away) for a total of 38 matches per team. The team with the most points at the end of the season is crowned the champion.

List of Premier League Winners

1992-1993: Manchester United

1993-1994: Manchester United

1994-1995: Blackburn Rovers

1995-1996: Manchester United

1996-1997: Manchester United

1997-1998: Arsenal

1998-1999: Manchester United

1999-2000: Manchester United

2000-2001: Manchester United

2001-2002: Arsenal

2002-2003: Manchester United

2003-2004: Arsenal

2004-2005: Chelsea

2005-2006: Chelsea

2006-2007: Manchester United

2007-2008: Manchester United

2008-2009: Manchester United

2009-2010: Chelsea

2010-2011: Manchester United

2011-2012: Manchester City

2012-2013: Manchester United

2013-2014: Manchester City

2014-2015: Chelsea

2015-2016: Leicester City

2016-2017: Chelsea

2017-2018: Manchester City

2018-2019: Manchester City

2019-2020: Liverpool

2020-2021: Manchester City

2021-2022: Manchester City

What Player Has Scored the Most Premier League Goals?

As of 2023, the player who has scored the most Premier League goals is Alan Shearer, who scored 260 goals in his career playing for Blackburn Rovers and Newcastle United. He scored his goals in a total of 441 appearances in the league.

After Alan Shearer, Wayne Rooney is the second player with the most goals scored in the Premier League with 208 goals in 491 appearances, he played for Everton and Manchester United.

And Andrew Cole, has the third highest goal scoring record in Premier League history with 187 goals in 414 appearances, he played for several teams including Newcastle United, Manchester United and Blackburn Rovers.

Which Team Has Won the Premier League Most?

As of 2021, the team that has won the Premier League the most is Manchester United, they have won the league 13 times.

Manchester United won the first Premier League title in the 1992-1993 season and went on to win the league in 1993-1994, 1995-1996, 1996-1997, 1998-1999, 1999-2000, 2000-2001, 2002-2003, 2006-2007, 2007-2008, 2008-2009, 2010-2011 and 2012-2013.

After Manchester United, the team that has won the Premier League the most is Manchester City, they have won the league 5 times, in 2011-2012, 2013-2014, 2017-2018, 2018-2019, 2020-2021, and 2021-2022

Chelsea has also won the league five times (2004-2005, 2005-2006, 2009-2010, 2014-2015, 2016-2017) and Arsenal, who has won the league 3 times (1997-1998, 2001-2002, 2003-2004).

What TV Channels Broadcast Premier League Games?

In the United Kingdom, the majority of Premier League matches are broadcast live on television by the pay-TV service Sky Sports and the streaming service Now TV. The majority of the matches are shown on the Sky Sports Premier League channel, with some also being shown on the Sky Sports Main Event and Sky Sports Football channels. The matches are also available on the Sky Go and Now TV app, which allows viewers to watch the matches live on their mobile devices.

In addition to Sky Sports, a certain number of Premier League matches are also broadcast live on BT Sport and Amazon. These matches are typically the ones that are played on weekends or during the Christmas and New Year period.

Premier League games also available to watch on NBCSN, NBC, NBCSports.com, NBC Sports App, Universo, and Telemundo Deportes in the United States, and on many other channels around the world depending on the country you are in.

What are the Highest Scoring Premier League Games?

The highest score in a Premier League game is 9-0, which has been achieved twice. The first time was on October 25, 2019, when Leicester City defeated Southampton 9-0 at the King Power Stadium. The second time was on November 10, 2019, when Tottenham Hotspur defeated Southampton 9-1 at the Tottenham Hotspur Stadium.

Manchester United hit eight past the Saints https://youtu.be/Y7eEVFq-XC8

All games were historic as it is very rare to see a team scoring 9 goals in one match, it’s also worth noting that Southampton was on the losing side each time.

In addition to these two matches, there have been a few other instances of high-scoring games in the Premier League, such as:

  • Manchester United 8-2 Arsenal (August 28, 2011)
  • Aston Villa 7-2 Liverpool (February 2, 1935)
  • Chelsea 8-0 Wigan Athletic (May 9, 2010)
  • Blackburn Rovers 8-2 Crystal Palace (October 14, 1989)