The Championship: Where to Watch Football on TV

Championship TV Guide

The Championship: Where to Watch Football on TV. Are you a fan of the Championship and wondering where you can catch the games on TV? Look no further than for all the information you need. We’ve got the lowdown on which channels are showing the matches, both in the UK and internationally.

Overview of the Championship:

The Championship, also known as the EFL Championship, is the second tier of English football. It’s made up of 24 teams who battle it out each season for promotion to the Premier League. With so much at stake, it’s no wonder that fans worldwide tune in to watch the drama unfold.

Year Champion
2021 Norwich City
2020 Leeds United
2019 Norwich City
2018 Wolverhampton Wanderers
2017 Newcastle United
2016 Burnley
2015 AFC Bournemouth
2014 Leicester City
2013 Cardiff City
2012 Reading

umber of Championships

Club Number of Championships
Newcastle United 4
Sunderland 3
Wolverhampton Wanderers 3
Aston Villa 2
Birmingham City 2
Burnley 2
Derby County 2
Ipswich Town 2
Leicester City 2
Middlesbrough 2
Norwich City 2
Nottingham Forest 2
Portsmouth 2
Sheffield United 2
Sheffield Wednesday 2
West Bromwich Albion 2
Blackburn Rovers 1
Blackpool 1
Bolton Wanderers 1
Brighton & Hove Albion 1
Bristol City 1
Cardiff City 1
Charlton Athletic 1
Crystal Palace 1
Fulham 1
Huddersfield Town 1
Rank Club Winners Winning seasons
1 Leicester City 7 1924–25, 1936–37, 1953–54, 1956–57, 1970–71, 1979–80, 2013–14
Manchester City 7 1898–99, 1902–03, 1909–10, 1927–28, 1946–47, 1965–66, 2001–02
3 Norwich City 5 1971–72, 1985–86, 2003–04, 2018–19, 2020–21
Sheffield Wednesday 5 1899–1900, 1925–26, 1951–52, 1955–56, 1958–59
Sunderland 5 1975–76, 1995–96, 1998–99, 2004–05, 2006–07
6 Birmingham City 4 1892–93, 1920–21, 1947–48, 1954–55
Derby County 4 1911–12, 1914–15, 1968–69, 1986–87
Leeds United 4 1923–24, 1963–64, 1989–90, 2019–20
Liverpool 4 1893–94, 1895–96, 1904–05, 1961–62
Middlesbrough 4 1926–27, 1928–29, 1973–74, 1994–95
Newcastle United 4 1964–65, 1992–93, 2009–10, 2016–17
Wolverhampton Wanderers 4 1931–32, 1976–77, 2008–09, 2017–18
13 Bolton Wanderers 3 1908–09, 1977–78, 1996–97
Burnley 3 1897–98, 1972–73, 2015–16
Fulham 3 1948–49, 2000–01, 2021–22
Ipswich Town 3 1960–61, 1967–68, 1991–92
Nottingham Forest 3 1906–07, 1921–22, 1997–98
Notts County 3 1896–97, 1913–14, 1922–23
Preston North End 3 1903–04, 1912–13, 1950–51
West Bromwich Albion 3 1901–02, 1910–11, 2007–08
21 Aston Villa 2 1937–38, 1959–60
Chelsea 2 1983–84, 1988–89
Crystal Palace 2 1978–79, 1993–94
Grimsby Town 2 1900–01, 1933–34
Manchester United 2 1935–36, 1974–75
Queens Park Rangers 2 1982–83, 2010–11
Reading 2 2005–06, 2011–12
Stoke City 2 1932–33, 1962–63
Tottenham Hotspur 2 1919–20, 1949–50
West Ham United 2 1957–58, 1980–81
31 Bournemouth 1 2014–15
Blackburn Rovers 1 1938–39
Blackpool 1 1929–30
Bradford City 1 1907–08
Brentford 1 1934–35
Bristol City 1 1905–06
Bury 1 1894–95
Cardiff City 1 2012–13
Charlton Athletic 1 1999–2000
Coventry City 1 1966–67
Everton 1 1930–31
Huddersfield Town 1 1969–70
Luton Town 1 1981–82
Millwall 1 1987–88
Oldham Athletic 1 1990–91
Oxford United 1 1984–85
Portsmouth 1 2002–03
Sheffield United 1 1952–53

Broadcasting Rights:

The Championship is broadcast on a variety of channels around the world. In the UK, Sky Sports and Quest have the rights to show live matches. Internationally, the games are available on streaming services such as DAZN, ESPN, and beIN Sports. Check out our detailed guide below for more information. If you are looking for a Championship TV Guide, we have you covered.

UK Coverage:

Sky Sports is the primary broadcaster of Championship matches in the UK. They show up to 30 live games per season, as well as highlights and analysis on their dedicated football channel. Quest also broadcasts a selection of matches each season, including the playoffs and the final. If you’re a fan of EFL on Quest, you can catch highlights and analysis of all the Championship action each week.

The BBC also has some coverage of the Championship, with live radio commentary available on BBC Radio 5 Live and highlights on Match of the Day.

International Coverage:

If you’re outside of the UK, there are plenty of ways to watch the Championship. DAZN is available in multiple countries and offers live streaming of all matches, as well as highlights and analysis. ESPN also has broadcasting rights in certain regions, including the United States and Latin America. beIN Sports is another popular option, with coverage available in the Middle East and North Africa.

How to Watch the Championship Online:

In addition to traditional TV broadcasts, there are several ways to watch the Championship online. Sky Sports subscribers can stream matches live on their mobile devices or laptops using the Sky Go app. Similarly, Quest subscribers can watch live matches and highlights on the QuestOD platform.

For fans without a TV subscription, there are several streaming services that offer access to Championship matches. DAZN, mentioned earlier, is available in many countries and provides a reliable way to watch live games. Other options include NOW TV and the Sky Sports app, both of which offer pay-as-you-go access to Sky’s Championship coverage.

The Football Pyramid

The English football pyramid is a hierarchical system of interconnected leagues for men’s association football clubs in England. The system is set up with promotion and relegation between leagues at different levels, allowing even the smallest club the possibility of reaching the top tier of English football. The pyramid consists of 19 leagues from Tier 1 to Tier 8, and around 83 leagues from Tier 9 to Tier 11 football divisions.

The first football league system, known as The Football League, was created in 1888 by Aston Villa Club director William McGregor with the intention of bringing professionalism and reform to the English football clubs at that time. The system had a hierarchical format with promotion and relegation between leagues at different levels, and the bottom clubs from the First Division were relegated to the Second Division, while the top clubs from the Second Division were promoted to the First Division. The system was later expanded with the addition of a Third Division in 1920, a Fourth Division in 1958, and the introduction of the Premier League in 1992.

The Championship is the second-highest division in the English football pyramid, just below the Premier League. It was established in 2004 as a successor to the old First Division and consists of 24 teams, with the top two teams at the end of the season being promoted to the Premier League, and the next four teams competing in a playoff for the final promotion place. The bottom three teams are relegated to League One at the end of the season. The Championship is a highly competitive league, known for its tough physical play, and is considered one of the most financially lucrative football leagues in the world and this website can act as a Championship TV guide.

Overall, the football pyramid in England is a unique and competitive system that has helped to shape the sport of football around the world. With promotion and relegation between leagues at different levels, it allows even the smallest clubs to dream of reaching the top, while also ensuring that the best teams are always competing at the highest levels.


Whether you’re in the UK or abroad, there are plenty of ways to watch the Championship on TV or online. Make sure to check out our comprehensive guide to find out which channels and streaming services are showing the games. And remember, for all your football viewing needs, has got you covered.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *